Amazon Kindle Paperwhite is only for right hand use


I’ve been using the new Kindle Paperwhite for close to a month now. It seems to be a good replacement for my 3 year old Kindle 3 (with keyboard)  which died on me one cold winter night – just when I needed it the most.

The ability to read without any lights on in the room at night is what makes the Kindle Paperwhite amazing. I’d pay for that any day. Thanks Amazon!

kindles in dark room

It is an upgrade in some ways and not so much in other ways. Actually, it is a retrogression in some ways.

It’s super responsive touch screen interface is a winner and I love the virtual keyboard.

However, nothing prepared me for the fact that I couldn’t listen to MP3s or play audiobooks on the Amazon Kindle Paperwhite. I miss that about the Kindle 3.

The fact that I can’t plug my earphone into my Kindle Paperwhite is a no, no.

Today I discovered another issue about the Kindle Paperwhite while  on my way from school – the Paperwhite is best suited for holding [and reading] using the right hand.

DSC02009

I had moved the Kindle from my right hand to my left hand to read but realized that in order to tap the [the right side of the] screen to move forward/ progress through the ebook, I had to stretch my left thumb all across the screen to tap there. Or I had to m0ve my Kindle into my right hand just to easily tap the screen to progress.

Once again the Kindle Paperwhite is beaten by the Kindle 3 because it offers the convenience to progress through an ebook whether it is being held in the right hand or the left hand.

DSC02011 DSC02010

 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Vincent Leeuw (@Cyhwuhx) on April 16, 2013 - 2:47 am

    When reading left-handed, use a swipe-to-the-right gesture with your left thumb and it should turn the page correctly as well.

    Agreed though, the Kindle Keyboard’s solution was and is better.

    • #2 by hollatainment on April 16, 2013 - 11:57 am

      Thanks for the tip / reminder!

      That there is a learning curve, that involves swiping when holding it in the left hand and merely tapping the screen when holding it in the right hand, makes the Kindle Paperwhite my latest favorite annoyance.

      The Kindle 3 with keyboard just needs to come back with paperwhite.

  2. #3 by Truss Reviews on April 16, 2013 - 2:59 am

    Interesting, how do you think would compare to the Nexus 7?

Leave a comment