Homeless after rehabilitation / City of contrasts


Last week I was on twitter yammering about how there are hardly any homeless in Ghana. I tweeted that ‘#ILoveGhanaBecause I have my parents home, my uncles’ home, my aunties’ home and my grandpa’s home when I’m in need’.

Well, it is not true for every Ghanaian!

There is still the issue of “kayayoos” – overworked, underpaid and homeless. Chances are the trotro you’re riding on is the mate’s sleeping place at night.

There are homeless people in Ghana. Unfortunately I’m not talking about kayayoos and mates. I’m talking about rehabilitated and discharged mad people. Former psychiatric patients who are homeless because their families wouldn’t take them back. Former psychiatric patients who are homeless because their families decided to move out of their rented apartments just so they don’t have to live with a rehabilitated mental patient.

If you use the Nkrumah Circle – Kanda road I’m sure you’ve seen this man who has made a home on the grassy pavement of a major road and at the mercy of the elements.

I hope this picture can complete the point I’m making. There are indeed some homeless in Ghana and I hope something is done about it.

 

♫♪Another Day in Paradise – Phil Collins♫♪

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment