The trotro driver who cried wolf…


I hope I managed to get your attention with this one…reading to see what new twist I have managed to put on the most popular of  Aesop’s fables: The boy who cried wolf. I am sure by the time you finish reading this post you will realize that I was only drawing an analogy on the morale of that ever popular story.

But do indulge me!

I have lived all my life in Ghana and I know one thing as a certainty about trotro and taxi drivers; they toot their horns for many reasons and one of the main reasons for tooting their horns is NO REASON.

You’ll realize after a few weeks or months of driving or using Ghana’s public transportations that the trotro drivers just love to toot their horns; in the middle of nowhere, with no passenger’s attention to draw….. they just love to toot their horns.

So if you catch yourself looking into your side mirrors to ‘catch’ what the trotro driver is trying to communicate to you, chances are he wouldn’t even be looking in your direction and you’ll soon know better.

So for all the good reasons that the horn was made for, you’ll realize that it hardly serves any of those purposes when it comes to using Ghanaian roads. Thanks to trotro drivers and taxi drivers we have to battle a cacophony of car horns that incessantly pollute our natural sounds, the ipod, office meeting even our thoughts. It is the hum of the capital, a sign that this beast is awake and about her business. smh

The other day I was sitting in yet another rickety trotro praying to get home safely and then our driver starts tooting his horn. At first I couldn’t be bothered to look at his unfortunate object of horn-attack until I realized it was more persistent than the usual random tooting. Raising my head from my phone (reading tweets), I realized he was drawing the attention of another trotro driver whose back swing-doors were opening with the likelihood that the cargo stashed will spill into the road [and possibly cause an accident].

I was surprised that the trotro driver in front of mine didn’t slow down or even acknowledge our trotro driver in any way.

Then it occurred to me….

This is the trotro driver who cried wolf….and now no one pays him any mind.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

