Bibliophilia or Bibliomania – Hoarding of a different kind


Cover of "Kindle Wireless Reading Device,...

Cover via Amazon

My love for my Kindle is quite known amongst my friends. Well, I don’t love the Amazon Kindle for its sake. I love my books. I love the fantasy and sci-fi, horror and mystery genres. But then again I think I love the Kindle for how it makes it easy for me to carry my books.

But ever since I got my Kindle, I’ve been in the habit of loading up e-books on it. Many e-books. Too many e-books that sometimes I just page through my collection and never manage to settle on one to read. There are always so many books I want to read and so little time and so many books read to different percentages and shelved.

Blaming Project Gutenberg for having so many English classics on the web in many formats free to download is what I’ve been doing and by extension it is the reason I’ve only read bit and pieces of the books that I’ve read.

CLASSIC CASE OF HOARDING

Stepping back, I realized I have been obsessively and unhealthily ‘collecting’ e-books that I might not read and blaming the availability of free/ cheap e-books for this new habit I have formed. I just caught myself right on the borderline of becoming an e-book hoarder.

So my plan to stop myself from hoarding is to:

1. Only keep on my Kindle e-books I can finish reading within a 2/3 months time frame

2. At any time I should have read more than 50% of the e-books on my Kindle and

3. Archive e-books after I have read them or

4. Only read paperbacks and hardcovers

Will one be called a bibliophile or bibliomaniac for hoarding e-books?

Do you have more than 50 e-books on  your e-reader with about 75% of them unread?

Can one love e-books?

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Bookish Hobbit on January 21, 2012 - 11:18 am

    I have somewhere around 140 e-books on my e-Reader and I’ve only read 2 of them so far. The sad thing is that I’ve had this device for awhile. I keep getting distracted by the books on my shelf. A physical reminder of all the unread books on my shelf leaves me feeling guilty if I curl up with my Libre so I end up reading the hardcovers and paperbacks instead of all those free books from Project Gutenberg.

  2. #2 by canisunfamiliaris on January 22, 2012 - 12:35 am

    I don’t see the problem. How many of your physical books have you read lately? Personally, our “guest room” is our library, and we have shelves of books that we’ve read. We both like to go back and reread books every now and then, so I’m not going to get rid of books that I love. Same with my Kindle ebooks. But maybe that is just me.

    • #3 by hollatainment on January 22, 2012 - 1:27 am

      I have read all my physical paperbacks and I agree there is a lot of value in keeping books – physical books have great covers, blurbs etc. E-books are another thing. I have found that having too many e-books is counter-productive for me. I end up not reading as much/ many of the books I was hoping to read on my Kindle. But I agree it might be an individual thing.

  3. #4 by Graham Knight on January 22, 2012 - 4:05 am

    The problem for me is the books that Amazon make free for a few days only. I have to rush and download them and now they are starting to collect on my Kindle!

  4. #5 by Nana Fredua-Agyeman on January 22, 2012 - 4:17 am

    Okay, I don’t own a kindle and have made no effort to own one so I’ve no such problem. Only 78 physical books on my shelf remains unread. I guess the problem is as Graham had stated.

Leave a Reply

