Please no ringback music….just give me a ringback tone


Ring back music or caller tunez by MTN were all the rave when they were introduced to the Ghanaian mobile telecommunication market. For a brief while I was hooked (never activated any on my phone); eager to listen to what nice song will be played whiles I wait for the person to pick the call.

Recently however, my reaction towards ringback music has changed drastically. I usually grimace or involuntarily pull the phone from my ear when some song or the other starts blaring through my phone’s speaker. When I think about it, I suspect it is because I am getting more impatient and don’t want to mix business calls with some party music like the one in the Vodafone advert featuring EAZZY.

Ironically, my reaction is the exact opposite of that of the young man in the Vodafone advert; I actually heave a sigh of relief when my calls are picked up, escaping further auditory attack from the harsh tunes that hit my eardrum when my calls connect.

I fear I consider someone unprofessional and inconsiderate when they have caller tunes playing simply because most of the songs are too loud and inappropriate for any kind of business and most caller tunes users do not know what songs play when people call them.

Please just give me a standard ringback tone…..nothing fanciful for me, no sire! no ma’am!

 

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Graham Knight on July 16, 2011 - 7:32 am

    And the worse thing is that before the music they now give you an advert saying that if you like the following caller tune, press # to download it to your phone. Why no message saying press * to erase the tune entirely?

  2. #2 by Malilla on August 1, 2011 - 1:34 pm

    Actually I think it it is not so much the option of choosing your own ringback tone that is the issue here. It is because your friends just chose the first pop song that comes to their mind without considering how annoying it can be. I have been on waiting queue with some companies and even enjoyed the music (classical). And then there are those who play awful disco music that just upsets me.

  3. #3 by abenamantebea on August 30, 2011 - 9:16 am

    My speakers dont even sound that loud when i am playing songs from my playlist. I dont know how they do it but they always manage to irritate me anytime i hear those awful caller ringtones. But surprisingly, i have heard ones which are rather soothing to the ear and you sometimes wish that the person you are calling will not pick the call. Just like every other thing in this world – there is always a good side and a bad side!!!!!!!

  4. #4 by Fomaci on November 8, 2011 - 6:52 pm

    intresting info, thanks

  5. #5 by Angela on November 10, 2011 - 2:16 am

    I completely agree. My younger cousin has Lil Wayne as his ringback tone and needless to say I cringe every time I hear it! Perhaps it’s my age, but like you, it reminds me too much of annoying elevator music. I just want to get to the call! : ]

  6. #6 by Ereh Faith on December 29, 2011 - 6:00 am

    Please i need ringback tone on my phone. Artist Michael Jackson song you are not alone.

    • #7 by hollatainment on January 8, 2012 - 7:17 am

      Usually ringback tones are additional services provided by mobile operators. Please check with your mobile operator. Great song of choice though

  7. #8 by LaTorya Jackson on April 3, 2012 - 2:16 pm

    Im new to this

  8. #9 by Kwaku on November 30, 2012 - 7:36 am

    Ok. Folks, so how do i cancel all my ringback tones? I dont want any of them on my mtn line. What do I send? And to what code?

  9. #10 by Carole on December 1, 2012 - 4:05 am

    After I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and
    from now on whenever a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the exact
    same comment. Perhaps there is a way you can remove me from that service?

    Thanks!

    • #11 by hollatainment on January 29, 2013 - 10:32 pm

      Go back to the original blog post you click to remove the notification.

Leave a Reply

