Warranty void by location – Why Amazon might not replace my broken Kindle


I am thinking about the current state of my Amazon Kindle and I am broken hearted. Well, I never anticipated that my Kindle would be dead set on /at ‘The Fishes’ e-ink screensaver. My Kindle simply won’t budge; not even to 10 minutes [of holding the power slide] hard reset. So I’ve not been reading much lately, at least not on the bus to work or back.

For some time now however, I was taking solace in the fact that a new Kindle could soon be coming my way thanks to Amazon’s flexible (and international?) replacement program for broken Kindle e-readers.

But after a few weeks of e-mails going back and forth with Amazon representatives, I am totally frustrated and want to reach out to other Kindle users in Africa if they have successfully got replacements for their broken Kindles.

Our vision is to be earth’s most customer centric company; to build a place where people can come to find and discover anything they might want to buy online.” I am beginning to wonder if Amazon plans on rolling out their vision statement to the letter; you know to all the earth?

After discovering my Kindle was broken, I called my friend, who walked me through the hard booting/resetting process, recharging battery fully process and we both agreed my Kindle was broken. Luckily enough my Kindle 3 was within warranty period and it was agreed I was going to explore that option.

After about 20mins of international call to the helpdesk to report my broken Kindle, I finally got an officially confirmation/ acknowledgement that my Kindle was broken and was going to be replaced for free. [Make a call to friend to share the good news]. I was promised $20 online credit for the airtime I spent to report problem. *Good customer service*

Fast track to 2 weeks later, I was getting mails requiring me to ship the broken Kindle to a US address to get a gift [shopping] voucher when all I wanted was my replacement Kindle back.

After many e-mails, I was finally told in plain English that Amazon doesn’t ship to Ghana or most part of Africa for that matter and that I should provide an address in the USA for them to ship the replacement Kindle to it. [Calling favours and friends who might be coming to Ghana for summer]

After getting an address and a friend willing to bring my Kindle home, I was informed I had to insert credit/ debit card details (which no charge will be billed against). A few days later I got a mail that the (Ghana) debit card I provided didn’t work (was refused) for some reason I cannot tell so my Kindle will not be shipped.

I am back to square one now and I am still holding my broken Kindle and my account at Amazon still stands at $0.00.

A few questions remain on my mind;

  1. If I can ship my broken Kindle to the USA, why can’t Amazon ship my replacement Kindle to Ghana?
  2. If Amazon failed to credit me with $20 for calling their helpdesk like they promised, why should I trust them to credit my account with the price of a Kindle 3 and cost of courier-shipping my broken one to their address?
  3. What if I don’t know anyone in the USA, does it mean I don’t get a replacement Kindle? Does that mean my warranty is void?
  4. What if I was never a prospective customer in Amazon’s marketing plan? This reminds me of the statement alleged to have been made by Tommy Hilfiger about not having Africans in mind when making his designer clothing.
  5. What good will it do for me to ship my broken Kindle to Amazon only to get a gift voucher that I can only use to shop on Amazon.com but cannot ship to Ghana? Catch 22

I am now convinced I will not get a new Kindle anytime soon, thanks to an Amazon system which is set up with the average American/European in mind. You know; a credit card wielding person whose home address can be searched on Google Earth and can ‘afford’ a Kindle.

Am I in this rut because I have a taste for things made for people in 1st world countries? Is my warranty void just because I find myself in a 3rd world country?

I am not happy with Amazon but I still will want my Kindle back. Someone please share a success story.

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kajsa on July 9, 2011 - 2:26 pm

    If only Amazon knew how much business they are missing out on by not shipping to Ghana…

    • #2 by hollatainment on July 10, 2011 - 9:21 am

      My mind quickly went to the number of blackberry and iphones people use in Ghana, and the Kindle is even cheaper…..

  2. #3 by accrabooksandthings on July 9, 2011 - 9:43 pm

    Oh, sorry… would have commiserated with you on this one! But presumably all your stuff is in your Amazon account, so you could read it on a laptop??? I know not as convenient!

    • #4 by hollatainment on July 10, 2011 - 3:54 pm

      Thank you…going back to reading on the laptop is quite hard on my back after getting used to the Kindle. I will keep you informed on any breakthrough.

  3. #5 by Daixy on July 10, 2011 - 7:42 am

    I can get your kindle to the USA on the 23rd of July if you want and have it shipped to my sibling who will arrive in GH on the 10th of august. That should be enough time for the shipping. I can’t believe you didn’t think to talk to me about this, when we talk about everything else. SMH. Don’t worry about the credit card. I got that covered. All we need is to make sure they don’t try to tag on charges to my card and we’re good to go (hug).

    That means call me right away 😉

  4. #6 by hemp on July 11, 2011 - 6:05 pm

    Recently some Kindle owners have been reporting issues with frozen and broken screens. Luckily a few commenters have said that Amazon resolved their screen issues by replacing their Kindle within two weeks. I dont think I could voluntarily go two weeks without my Kindle now that I own one but I think its a reasonable amount of time to wait for a replacement item thats in such high demand. .Ive been experiencing a touch of this issue and have narrowed down exactly when it happens at least in my experience.

  5. #7 by booksfan13 on January 7, 2012 - 3:15 pm

    my kindle3 just died too. and living in a 3 world country ( pakistan) i dont think my kindle gonna get replaced anytime soon:(. so hope this becomes a sucess story) i cant live without my kindle

    • #8 by hollatainment on January 8, 2012 - 7:23 am

      Sorry to hear, I can feel your frustration. My replacement kindle also broke and had to get another replacement. As one friend puts it, the kindles are made to break.

  6. #9 by booksfan13 on January 10, 2012 - 10:45 am

    lol. i finally got a way to getmy kindle fixed. my uncle lives in america so i am sending it to him who is going to send it to seattle to get fixed under his name ( i am giving him the money) and then hes going to get the fixed kindle and is going to ship it to me .
    yipee. although looking at the whole thing the cost of transportation is around more than the cost of the kindle 😛

    • #10 by hollatainment on January 13, 2012 - 7:41 am

      Go to Amazon Kindle website, report your broken kindle, they will give you a shipping address if they confirm that you are due to receive a free replacement after a legthy phone conversation with you. Then you can ship the Kindle to the states. Usually they will credit you with the amount you spent on shipping to your amazon account.
      They will then ship your replacement to your uncle’s American address. I’m not sure whether they ship to India but please check that.
      I don’t think it should cost you more than the price of a kindle even if you are paying for shipping to Amazon’s office and from your uncle’s to India.
      Please go to Amazon kindle portal and report if you haven’t.

      Best with your replacement

  7. #11 by booksfan13 on January 16, 2012 - 10:11 am

    thnx

  8. #12 by singing Program on March 27, 2013 - 5:39 pm

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this post and the rest of the website is also very good.

  9. #13 by ans on February 14, 2014 - 11:45 am

    Same situation here in India.Why can Amazon not ship here my replacement

  10. #14 by Pieter on September 19, 2014 - 9:11 am

    Amazon doesn’t ship to many countries in the world… That’s why there is Amazon in different countries.
    And then you were going to go through all that trouble of shipping it to your uncle, pay for getting it fixed and then ship it back to Ghana. Wouldn’t it be just more convenient and almost cheaper to buy another one using your uncle’s address and he could ship it to you? Just saying…

    • #15 by hollatainment on September 19, 2014 - 10:08 am

      Thanks for the comment! I’ve been in the USA these past few years and handled all my kindle problems and I have bought even more kindle devices- fire HD, fire HDX, paper light, fire TV. The difference between the level of support and customer service in USA and Ghana and other developing countries is staggering, that is what amazon needs to work on as it makes a global push.

  1. Warranty void by location – Why Amazon might not replace my broken … | | Kindle Reader OnlineKindle Reader Online

Leave a Reply

