The GMAT is back in Ghana!


It is ironic this is my first blog post in 2011  when I had actually struck out re-taking the GMAT from my resolutions. But I guess it is apt that my first post is a follow-up from a 2010 post – No GMAT in Ghana, not again SiliconPro

 

The GMAT is back in Ghana!


I don’t know when active service resumed for Ghana,(I will inquire), but it is a good sign that Ghana is back in the mix.

After a couple of adventurous Ghanaians have gone through the stress of travelling to Nigeria and hopefully not Ivory Coast to take the [entry] test for graduate school, it is good that GMAC and Linear Assessment Services Ltd have come to an agreement, and I hope it is kept into the future.

Taking the GMAT outside Ghana involves great expense of airfare to neighbouring country, accommodation cost, transportation and the general risk of visiting a country for the first time. not to mention the tendency to go into the test centre stressed and getting a lower-than-expected score.

Although I am happy at the fact that the GMAT is back in Ghana, I find the timing a bit off and disadvantageous to Ghanaians who have waited for a test centre to open; because a lot of MBA programs have passed their 2nd application deadlines where scholarships for international students is most available.

All the best to all you out there preparing for the GMAT and graduate school [MBA].



, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Abena on March 10, 2011 - 8:34 pm

    Just came across your blog. Extremely interesting. Unfortunately I was not that adventurous to go to nigeria or IC to write the gmat. So thats how my 5 month intensive gmat study went down the drain. And the timing of the removal was such that there was no way of submitting a R1 or R2 application in time to meet deadlines, effectively pushing MBA dreams to next year instead! Anyway we thank God a center has been found, though I will advice all ghanaian MBA aspirants to write the gmat as soon as you can! You will never know when the center would be removed again.

    • #2 by hollatainment on March 15, 2011 - 3:49 pm

      Thanks for your comment. For a while I thought I was the only one who cared to pursue an MBA outside Ghana. It was pretty unfortunate the timing of the GMAT test centre closing down, it definitely threw a winch into lot of peoples’ plans, sorry to hear your story. I decided to go to Nigeria because GMAC couldn’t give me a date for new test centre [after so many calls] and there was no way I was going to postpone. I am happy there is a test centre now, it definitely will take away half of the anxiety, might even give you an extra 30 points on the test. hehehe. All the best with your subsequent preparations.

  2. #3 by abena on March 18, 2011 - 1:11 pm

    Thanks! I luv your blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

