Why I use Open Source and why you should use Linux too


I tried convincing two friends why they should embrace Open Source and even run Linux Ubuntu.

Interestingly, they actually knew something about Linux, used it before and not too keen to use it fulltime.

It has been my passion for a while now and I’m trying to get others around me to see things my way.

So, this blog post is just to convince myself that my choice of Operating System is well advised and sell YOU the idea.

1. VLC is an open source media player and you’ll admit it is better than any other media player out there

2. Open Source is about passion, sharing and humanity. The passion to develop and share tools with others.

2. It epitomises the human spirit of reinvention, innovation and improvement

4. It is free! It is free like air!! The best things in life CAN be free

Give it a shot if you have no special software requirements that can only be catered for by other OSes.

  1. #1 by KY on November 6, 2010 - 11:59 pm

    i thought this was meant to be about trotro stories…not S/W??

  2. #2 by hollatainment on November 8, 2010 - 9:11 pm

    Every once in a while the mind wanders and I have to write it down but don’t want to start another blog for random stuff. Thanks for the reminder. I’ll aspire to have 70% of posts on trotro and public transport.

Leave a Reply

