Why I don’t do trotro front seat


Only two reasons why I’ll sit in the front passenger seat of the trotro (3 actually)
1. If It is the only available seat on the bus

2. If I really can’t bear sitting in the back because of my long legs (read, close seats designed to maximize fare)

3. When the mate opens the front door because the bus is still moving

WHY NOT?

1. I am scared! Darn right I’m scared!! Now, if you are a driver and you sit in another equally ‘bad’ drivers car you definitely know what I’m talking about. Just multiply that craziness by a factor of 2. Who am I kidding 10, and then you’ll know why I don’t want to sit in the front seat.

2. You get the best view of the house (read trotro) from the back seat anyway.

3. I’m reminded of TLC Scrubs everytime someone jumps into the front seat of a trotro…weird! lol

,

  1. #1 by Graham Knight on October 19, 2010 - 12:37 pm

    You and are of one mind on this! There also seems to be the assumption that it is a ‘privilege’ to sit in the front. I just believe I will be the one to die first if there’s a crash! I also don’t want people staring at the back of my head – I’d rather stare at theirs!

  2. #2 by Daixy on October 19, 2010 - 2:18 pm

    My sis was in a trotro this one time and the driver chose to smash into another van. What saved her was the fact that she was in the second row behind the driver and as such, the people in front shielded her row from the flying fragments of glass. Since then, she’s always made it a point to pick a seat in the middle.

    @ Graham, I sat in front once and thought I was going to have a heart attack. The driver and mate were sporting dreadlocks and they both insisted on talking to Mz Americano. It may have gone better if the man didn’t have a habit of turning to face me everytime he wanted to make a point. Privilege? My shiny hiney lol.

    I wish we could set up a proper metro system and get rid of trotros altogether. I really feel that they’re death traps 😦

  3. #3 by sliQue on October 19, 2010 - 7:28 pm

    well I had a really bad moment in the front seat of a trotro sometime ago that seemed to have left a mark on my mind. For the rest of my life… i will never ever again take a seat in the front unless it is really neccessary.
    I happened to have stay overnight working, (as I do almost everyday) and for the life of me decided to leave early the next morning. As I quickly jumped into the front seat, utterly forgeting that I’d soon feel sleepy, a guy next to me urged me to move to the middle. Which I did. The 30 minutes drive home felt like it lasted 30hours. My God how embarrassing. I constantly kept bumping my head against the driver to my left and then on the guy to my right. At times they will gently tap me on my shoulder to stay awake, something I desperately wanted to do, but I just can’t. And then the nice pretty ladies sitting at the back started giggling. Boy as I so stiff faced when I got down. I think i might be the next copperfield cuz I managed vanish at the bus stop so fast, Copperfield himself would have been dumbfounded. Anyways… lesson learned, sleepy or not… it’s the back seat for me.

  4. #4 by hollatainment on October 20, 2010 - 8:34 am

    @Graham, everyone staring at my(your) long occiput is something I can’t have. Look out for a posting on that word.

    @Daixy, I second scrapping trotros but till then all trotro drivers should take a psycho-test before getting that mini-bus license. The average trotro driver will gladly use the passenger side of the front to face any collision and bale out like they were spirited away.

Leave a Reply

