Half-truths – In the land of the blind


It is often said that In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is the king but what if there is a 3D-vision person in the land who has decided to not take up the task of the King?
That is the situation I found myself in about a month ago when i sat in this trotro. Minding my own business and trying to straighten my thoughts, as if that is ever a possibility in my experience with public transportation. Not unexpectedly, I wasn’t totally successful. Actually I gave up finally after several attempts. It wasn’t a bad day on the bus after all; I at least got off at my destination shaking my head and laughing in spite of myself and grateful to find ready entertainment in places I least expected.

Mulling over the purpose for my venturing out on such a hot day and not making much progress, I let my mind drift and before long caught on with the conversation on the bus. Initially I thought it was something to do with politics (what with presidents taking the credit for Black Stars’ qualification to the WC, you don’t know what else will be credited to some persons in power) which I will NEVER express my opinion on in a bus, EVER!! For a brief moment I felt I was eavesdropping but looking at how the one-eyed man was conducting his court and basking in the attention of those who gladly listened and commented, I was convinced he’d have been glad to know I was listening in and taking mental notes.

The story went like this…..

One-eyed philosopher king:

blind-man 1: So, are you saying ………

One-eyed philosopher king: Yes

half of blind-audience(in unison): I never knew, Ehhhh?! Oh Okay!!

One-eyed philosopher king: Oh yes, that even reminds me of this true story of  ………………..

Now, I’m not an authority on lots of things but I swear I knew the facts and knew they were being twisted either on purpose or unintentionally. But who was I to correct the error in facts? Was I being unfair to the ‘blind-men’ on the bus? Did I want to expose/ correct the one-eyed philosopher king? Yes! Would they have listened to what a young man like myself had to say? Maybe!!

BUT

I bet the one-eyed philosopher king is a better orator in such an environment where the loud mouth always wins rather than the diplomatic and fact delivering man who cannot dish out a good dose of sensational untruths to give every passenger something to ponder.

So, I kept the facts to myself, enjoyed this form of entertainment and got down from the bus laughing at the incredulity of the questions asked the one-eyed philosopher king and his equally sensational answers to his trusting co-passengers.

I bet we’ve all ‘sat through’ similar on-bus war stories. Please share yours!!

  1. #1 by Mike on August 20, 2010 - 6:11 am

    this is too funny. I was just tallking about you and others like you at http://antirhythm.blogspot.com/2010/08/education-view-from-ghana.html

    You are one of the quiet ones.

  2. #2 by Babs on August 31, 2010 - 9:33 pm

    Oh my, I love how you’ve used the varying degrees of vision, enjoyed reading this. My favourite places for listening to one-eyed philosopher kings is at taverns (drinking spots) there everyone is one eyed and everyone is equally blind.

  3. #3 by hollatainment on September 1, 2010 - 8:09 am

    Mike, I read lots of blogs but mostly sports until I chanced on http://www.ghanablogging.com(which i want to get in) and it opened me to interesting GH perspectives and at this point i’m telling myself “shouldn’t I be sharing something?”
    I hope you enjoy my future posts

    Babs, Last time I left the comfort of my home to watch the EPL in a pub and this dude kept on about how wack the Premiership was the fact that it is ranked 10th in the world. This time I was like ‘Oh NO, you won’t get away with this!’. I bust his balls with the hard facts I googled off the net.. lol

Leave a Reply

